Monthly TBR

October 2016: To Be Read

So, there has be a lot of “I am writing” post so lets switch this up a bit.

Here is the plan for October. Its not going to at all ambitious.(Did you get the pun?— Gone with the wind is over 1,000 pages)Lady Midnight

But, before I jump into that. A quick reading up date, I am about 2 chapters away from finish “Lady Midnight”. There will be a review on it posted some time this week so look out for it.

I really only plan on making progress in one book which is:

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

Margaret Mitchgone-with-the-windell’s epic novel of love and war won the Pulitzer Prize and one of the most popular and celebrated movies of all time.

Many novels have been written about the Civil War and its aftermath. None take us into the burning fields and cities of the American South as Gone With the Wind does, creating haunting scenes and thrilling portraits of characters so vivid that we remember their words and feel their fear and hunger for the rest of our lives.

In the two main characters, the white-shouldered, irresistible Scarlett and the flashy, contemptuous Rhett, Margaret Mitchell not only conveyed a timeless story of survival under the harshest of circumstances, she also created two of the most famous lovers in the English-speaking world since Romeo and Juliet. (Goodreads)

If time permits and I need a little break from “Gone with the Wind”, I also plan on finishing ” The Bane Chronicles”.  I started this book during the summer and never got around to finishing it.

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

the-bane-chroniclesFans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material. (Goodreads)

Thoughts:

I am a little nervous about reading “Gone with the Wind” because it is over  a thousand pages. But, one page at a time should do it.

I may pick up some spooky reads around Halloween, but I will see how the reading goes this month and pick them up by mood.

Until Next time with warm cups of tea and just a few more chapters,

Rina

 

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday: Midnight Heir

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB of “Books and a Beat“. Anyone can participate.

1.Grab your current book title

2. Open to a random page

3. Share 2 lines. NO SPOILERS PLEASE!!

4.Share Author and Title

Lady Midnight ” A boy with blazing blue green eyes and the blond girl he had seen at the shadow market the week before. They were both staring – not at him, but at the boy gripping his shirt. ” ( Chapter 16, “Lady Midnight” by Cassandra Clare)

Feel free to leave a comment with your teaser tuesday, as always if there are any books that you have to recommend please leave a comment or tweet me at: rinareviewsbks.

ONE LOVE,

Rina

#booktube · Friday Reads

#FridayReads: Lady Midnight

Hey Bibliomaniacs,

It is 17 minutes into Saturday, and I realized I didn’t post my #Fridayreads up yet. I have been reading Lady Midnight, by Cassandra Clare. I am Lady Midnightabout 54% of the way through the book.

I have been realizing a few things that have changed in my reading process. The major change is I enjoy reading from E-books, way more than reading a physical copy. Secondly, I read a lot faster when I read an e-book. As much as I love how my books look on my shelf, I am very much enjoying the process of reading e-books. One thing I love about E-books is that amazon offers very cheap audiobooks of the books you buy as e-books. This is especially awesome if you re reading thicker books like “A Game of Thrones”.

Synopsis: In a kingdom by the sea…
In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare.(Goodreads)

My Bookish Thoughts:

I hope to read at least 200 hundred pages of “Lady Midnight”, this weekend. As of today, I have read 83 pages. The book is really picking up, and I am very much enjoying the setting of the story as it is set in L.A. I think that the character development although rapid, it is really interesting and engaging to see how the characters deal with certain situations. Also, there is a lot of suspense and mystery in the plot. I’m enjoying all the forbidden love aspects in this book, and find it to be very fast paced and entertaining.

What are you guys reading this weekend? If you have an book recommendations feel free to leave a commit or connect with me on Twitter at: rinareviewsbks

With Warm Cups of Tea, And just a Few more Chapters,

Rina

Friday Reads

#Friday Reads 8/12/16 |Ventura, California Edition

Hey Bibliomaniacs,

There is no #Fridayreads video this week, for I am currently out of the town, visiting the lovely city of Ventura, California and  I didn’t have time this week to pre-film it. However, I do want to share what I will be reading this weekend.

I have finally started reading the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout, the book that I am reading is the first installment called Obsidian. This was very popular within the book-tube community in the summer of 2013. I decided to give it a go. I have about 72 pages left in the novel and I have been really enjoying reading it off my kindle. However, I definitely have my share of issues with it. I will share them with you in my wrap-up.

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Synopsis: Starting over sucks.ObsidianWhen we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is. (Goodreads)

Since I only have about 72 pages left in this book and I will be staying in tonight I feel like I will have not problem finishing this book. So, now I know there is a burning question in you. Why Marina, what will you be reading after you are done with “Obsidian”?

When I finish “Obsidian” I would love to start reading “Lady Midnight” by Cassandra Clare. I have been dying to start this one since it came out and I am finally caught up with this series.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare 

SynopsisLady Midnight

In a kingdom by the sea…

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare. (Goodreads)

I am extremely excited about this installment. I have only heard really good things about it and I think that vacation time is the best time to start a very thick book.

I hope you all are having a wonderful weekend and getting plenty of reading in. Look forward to a travel vlog possibly in the near future. I would love to vlog this vacation. Although, today was a bit stressful of a start with a clogged toilet at the place we are staying but, I declare the rest of the trip to be delightful. I can’t wait to connect with my best friend who is coming to visit. And my dear ol’ pops is meeting us in Ventura as well.

With warm cups of tea and just a few more chapters,

Rina